Texas is strong in its stance to discourage and punish the use of illegal drugs. One such drug is cocaine, which carries penalties for its use, sale and possession. Facing a cocaine-related charge in Texas can have a profound effect on the accused.
Cocaine consequences in Texas
Penalties for cocaine-related drug charges depend on a number of variables. The case is affected by the amount of cocaine involved, the intended use of the cocaine and the criminal history of the accused.
Cocaine possession in Texas is always a felony, no matter the circumstances. Penalties can range from six months in jail to life imprisonment. The amount of cocaine involved influences the punishment.
For example, possessing less than 1 gram of cocaine is a state jail felony. The accused can get between 180 days to two years in jail. There is also a fine of up to $10,000. But possession of 200 grams but less than 400 grams of cocaine is a first-degree felony. The accused can get a prison sentence of 10 to 99 years and a fine of up to $100,000.
There are also penalties for selling, manufacturing or distributing cocaine in Texas. For example, trafficking between 200 and 400 grams of cocaine can result in 15 or more years in prison. There is also a fine of up to $250,000.
The accused will likely also face non-criminal penalties related to their cocaine offense. These penalties can include loss of driver’s license, mandatory drug treatment and mandatory drug testing. The accused may also have their ability to find employment affected.
Texas is serious about punishing the possession, use and sale of cocaine. The state has strict laws and penalties specifically for cocaine-related offenses, so if you have been charged with cocaine possession, it’s a good idea to get all of the information that you can about your options.